Reckon him, The Catcher In The Rye

Captivating.

I found that once you read the first page it’s so hard to stop reading another sentence and close the book. I finished the book myself less than 24 hours. The way J.D Salinger spilled the character’s mind is just captivating. I didn’t even care if it’s Holden Caulfield that I was actually reading about, I thought I was reading me. Myself. And that’s what special about this book. It’s like, reading yourself, re-enact yourself with multiple extreme dialogues.

To me, personally, the main character, the so-called troubled boy named Holden Caulfield is the most naive person in the entire story. He’s so naive he refused to grow up. He refused to compromise with his surroundings, which one of things that we are obliged to do as we grow up. He was just simply blocked things that he found contrary to what he thought the world should be. Isn’t that what’s we all also deal with? Compromising. To finally see that the world is not innocent as we thought it would be.

It is highly recommended. This book. I learned how hard it is to control your angst and how simple it is to curse on people. I learned that sometimes, there’s no use to bend your principal beliefs if it’s required by the society. If you feel like you want it this way, then do it this way. But a little reminder, everything stinks and stings. Be ready. Consequences are real. And there is always price to pay, probably with tears.

I quoted my favorite passage of the book.

Anyway, I keep picturing all these little kids playing some game in this big field of rye and all.  Thousands of little kids, and nobody’s around – nobody big, I mean – except me.  And I’m standing on the edge of some crazy cliff.  What I have to do, I have to catch everybody if they start to go over the cliff – I mean if they’re running and they don’t look where they’re going I have to come out from somewhere and catch them.  That’s all I do all day.  I’d just be the catcher in the rye and all.  I know it’s crazy, but that’s the only thing I’d really like to be.” (Holden Caulfield)

 

I felt that a particular song can really matches with the situation I’ve read on the book. For this Holden boy, i feel Thom Yorke’s (Radiohead) song, Reckoner, could really enhance the after-reading mood. Repeat it, multiple times. Probably in the end of the melody, we could reach the same conclusion, Yorke helped us to caught ourselves in the rye.

 

Go ahead, enjoy Salinger and Yorke now!

PS : Help yourself not to get trapped inside Holden’s angst. He’s malicious.

 

-i-

Leave a Reply

